Delhi Technological University, Shahbad Daulatpur, Main Bawana Road, Delhi Haiderpur New Delhi 110042 View On Map

Main Categories

  • Universities

Education Medium

  • English

Delhi Technological University

Delhi Technological University (DTU), formerly known as Delhi College of Engineering was established in the year 1941. The main aim of the institute is to cater the needs of Indian industries for trained technical manpower with practical experience and sound theoretical knowledge. Delhi College of Engineering was set up at the historic Kashmere Gate campus as a follow up of the Wood and Abott Committee of 1938. It comprised of a multi disciplinary and multi level institution offering wide ranging programmes in engineering, technology, arts and sculpture, architecture, pharmacy and commerce. The institution awarded national diploma which was recognized as equivalent to degree level for the purposes of employment. The college was affiliated with University of Delhi in the year 1952 and started formal Degree level Programmes. The department of Arts and Sculpture became College of Arts, the department of Architecture later became the School of Planning and Architecture which is now a Deemed University and an institution of National importance. The departments of Chemical Technology and Textile Technology were shifted out en-block to mark beginning of the IIT Delhi at its new campus at Hauz Khas. The department of commerce was later abolished and the faculty of management studies of the University of Delhi was established by Prof. A Das Gupta, of DCE. Delhi College of Engineering is thus the mother institution of a number of national projects including IITD, SPA, College of Arts and even the famous FMS. From July 2009, the DCE has become Delhi Technological University vide Delhi act 6 of 2009.

Contact Us

Contact us

Manage Your Profile